00 91 987 357 9007
Read in Your Language : Russian Spanish French German Italian Portuguese Dutch

Rajasthan History

Historical Palace Rajasthan

The history of Rajasthan is as impressive as the state itself. It has a heroic past. The desert landscape, the magnificent forts and palaces bring alive the stories of its brave men and the sacrifice of its women.

Ancient Period (up to 1200 AD)
Till the emergence of the Rajput clans in the Rajasthan around the 700 AD, the state remained a part of several republics. But as soon as the Rajputs arrived they established their rule in different parts of the state. The republics that dominated this area earlier were Mauryas, Malavas, Kushans, Arjunyas, Guptas Yaudhyas, Saka Satraps and Hunas.

The Rajput clans were dominant from a period that lasts from the 8th up to the 12th century of the Indian history. During 750 AD to 1000 AD, rajasthan was ruled by The Pratihars. Between the period ranging from 1000 AD to 1200 AD, there was a struggle for exercising control over rajasthan between Chauhans, Chalukyas and Parmars.

Medieval Period (1201 - 1707)
During the medieval period beginning from the 1200 AD, Muslim rulers established their rule over some parts of Rajasthan. The principal centers under their rule were Nagaur, Ajmer and Ranthambhor. With the beginning of the 13th century AD, Mewar rose as the most powerful and spectacular state of Rajasthan.

Modern Period (1707 - 1947)
The dominance of the Mughal Emperor, Akbar, made Rajasthan a politically united state. But with the downfall of the Mughal power in 1707, rajasthan disintegrated politically too. Upon the downfall of The Mughals, the Marathas penetrated Rajasthan. They conquered Ajmer in 1755. With the beginning of the 19th century, the Pindaris came into power.

Later in 1817-1818, Rajasthan came under the hands of the British rule.

Post Independence
Rajasthan, earlier called Rajputana constituted of 19 princely states, two chiefships (Lava and Kushalgarh) and a British administered region of Ajmer-Merwara. Different areas of Rajasthan were administered by different political entities. Rajasthan, as it is at present, was formed after a long process that continued from March 17, 1948 to November 1, 1956. Once this process of integration ended, the state was now known as Rajasthan. There are in all 32 districts, 105 sub-divisions, 222 towns, 241 tehsils and 37889 inhabited villages in Rajasthan at present.

Ask our Travel Experts!

Travel Details (mandatory)
Your Name Your Email Your Country of Residence Your Phone Arrival Date
Tour Duration No. of Person(s) Destination Interested In Tour Pre-requisites
Please mention your other travel requirements related to catering, accomodation and lifestyle needs.
It will help us to serve you better.
Specify Your Interest & Activities (optional)
Your Special Interests

Powered by SOFTTIX